1-2 Blog: Consumer who? Consumer You! (Consumer Behavior 20EW5)

  • What type of consumer are you?

I vary between being a loyal consumer and a need-base consumer. I will only use one brand and stay true to it if I genuinely feel like they are right for me. Along with that, I will promote a product or a brand to my friends and on my social media once I know they are of high quality. However, if I am in need of something specific and cannot afford my desired choice or my first choice is out of stock then I will resort to trying something else. For example, I love reformers pilates at a workout. If I can afford a specific studio that I love then I will invest my money. But if I am in need of the workout and another local studio is offering a deal for half the price, then I will alter my routine.

  • What influences your buying decisions, and how?

My buying decisions are influenced through social media, what is currently trending, what I need and what is currently going on in the world. Social media plays a main role in influential relations as trends are highlighted regularly. It is easy to find out what your favorite celebrity or style icon is wearing with just a click of a button. Every page I follow inspires my style and what I want to wear as well. However, I added what is currently going on in the world because of the coronavirus pandemic. Usually, I am influenced easily to make unnecessary purchases. But now I am reevaluated my spending habits and buying decisions. As much as I’d love to buy the sun dress my favorite fashion blogger is wearing in her instagram post, I do not see the point. Instead, I am purchasing lounge wear and workout clothes.

  • Which stage actually leads to your purchasing decisions?

Evaluation of choices usually leads to my purchasing decision. Once I already know what type of product I need and want and have the information in front of me, It just comes down to picking the brand. If I know I need a blender, I have several choices of what type of blender. The information of quality, style, longevity and price is all in front of me.

  • When making a buying decision, how are you influenced by marketing research and marketing design?

My buying decision is influenced initially off of the marketing research. The information on the product is more important to me. However, the marketing design will help you with your first glance and your last buying choice. If two products have the same quality but one looks physically better, I will go with the more visually appealing item.

  • Do you experience any post-purchase behavior?

Yes, it is very common that I experience post-purchase behavior. When I first purchase a product, I ask myself if I needed to make that purchase. Then when I first wear or use the product I decide on whether I am truly satisfied. Especially, if it is a piece of clothing that I did not try on in the store.

Leave a comment